Rocca di Brisighella
The Brisighella fortress, positioned to defend the town and the valley, was built in 1310 by Francesco Manfredi, Lord of Faenza, on the ruins of an earlier castle. T
he Manfredi family ruled over Brisighella for the whole of the 14th and 15th centuries apart an eight year period and modernised the defences, which were then further strengthened in the middle of the 15th century.
In 1500 it was conquered by Cesare Borgia (Duke of Valentinois) but a few years later ownership passed to the Venetians, who contributed the imposing circular tower and then, in 1509, to the Papacy, in whose dominion it remained almost continuously until 1860, when it was annexed by the Kingdom of Italy.
Following the last restoration, the Fortress was equipped with a “talking stones” system. These begin with the voice of Brisighella mercenary Captain, Dionisio di Naldo coming from an interactive speaker tower located in the old courtyard outside and end in the munitions store, in which visitors can witness a battle (with light and sound effects), in which the castle is stormed.
- Indirizzo: Via della Rocca
- Città: Brisighella (RA)
- Tel: +39 0546994415